Two truths with Vajrasattva (3rd Profundity)

Following on from the post on the 2nd Profundity. This is more on using Vajrasattva practice at the end of the day to ‘make my day empty’. Solitary Vajrasattva then combined with a practice of emptiness.

Below are some notes of how I contemplate/practice the 3rd Profundity whilst engaging in purification.

Using purification, one looks at all their actions, so it’s also a great time to practice seeing all actions as empty. In practice this doesn’t take long but can take as long as you want. The key is to review your day, behaviours, mistakes, non-virtues and everything really and begin noticing all forms as being inseperable from emptiness, nice and relaxing, nice and easy:

Focus and build determination. Why haven’t I realized emptiness yet and how would my life be different if I had a deep realization of emptiness? I use the body mainly as an example Where is my mind taking me, look at where my mind takes my body during the day:

  • Where am I heading: before realizing emptiness I am following incorrect paths.
  • Where am I looking: Seeking happiness but moving toward suffering by grasping at true existence
  • How much control have I got: I have strong imprints of conceiving the body and its emptiness as two different entities
  • Using 3rd Profundity is a profound method: The 2 truths are easier to dissolve appearances
  • Need to contrast: Form & inherent existence of form as they appear as the same entity

Contemplating:

The two truths being the same entityemptiness is not other than form; form also is not other than emptiness

Conventional nature & Ultimate nature = same entity

  1. Example: Shape of body & body itself not identical but the same entity (Shape of body cannot appear as separate from the body)
  2. Form & emptiness of form – not identical, but same entity
  3. Indicates: Same entity but not identical – different conception
  4. Example: Fire & heat
  5. Contrast: Book and body – different entities (book appears one place, body another. To a non-conceptual direct perceiver)
  6. GKG: “ form is the same entity as the emptiness of form”
  7. Question: How can we know that the 2 truths are the same entity?

4 points:

  • Understanding phenomena as being empty of inherent existence (leads to me knowing…)
  • What appears to me (is false)
  • I willl then understand that the emptiness of inherent existence is an inseparable characteristic of form
  • Realising this I can know that they are the same entity

If 2 phenomena are the same entity but not identical, they do not appear as separate to a non-conceptual direct perceiver (forms appear clearly without being mixed with a generic image), but they do appear different to a CONCEPTUAL mind. A natural relationship obtains between objects that have the same entity or nature. There is a natural relationship between dog and animal because a dog is an animal. A sense awareness (which is a direct perceiver) that is mistaken with respect to the entity is mistaken with respect to the whole object. The I in one moment is a different entity to the I of the previous moment.

Identical phenomena: has same generic image, if 2 phenomena are identical (something that is identical has the same image)

Non-identical phenomena but still the same entity: 2 phenomena not identical & have different generic images

For example: Body’s emptiness is an inseparable characteristic of our body…(same entity, different phenomena) – form and the emptiness of form are the same entity

  • Just like body’s shape & size are the same entity of the body
  • Shape of our body cannot exist separately from body
  • Same as the emptiness of inherent existence & my body 

8. Use the 2nd Profundity – If manifestation, then cannot then be separate entities

9. Blue & sky / Gold & coin – same entity analogies

10. Question: “what is it that lacks the IE of form?” – Answer: Form itself

*Form is the same entity as the emptiness of form* – and NOT: form is the same entity as emptiness in general

Example: Form is not the same entity as the emptiness of feeling. They are non-identical phenomena & not the same entity.

The aggregate of Form can only be empty of the inherent existence of itself and not of the aggregate of feeling.

“During my day I have been averse to some things, drawn to others, yet nothing is inherently good or bad. All these conventional objects are equal in the fact that they are manifestations of emptiness and are the same entity as emptiness”

I hold this understanding.

Conclusion of the practice – (at the end of the day)

All feelings, thoughts, situations, virtue and non-virtue during the day is all seen as a manifestations of emptiness and the same entity as emptiness . I go through the day and affirm this in my mind. I try to know this directly, non-conceptually.

The feeling is that everything has dissolved into emptiness. I have only known emptiness today. All biased views become settled in the ocean of emptiness. All aversion, hatred and desire and indifference is dissolved.

Finish off with 21 Vajrasattva Mantras, dedication etc. The following day is working with the 4th profundity.

2 responses to “Two truths with Vajrasattva (3rd Profundity)

  1. Pingback: The 1st profundity | Real Kadampa·

Leave a comment