I have imprisoned Vajrasattva inside all living beings

Vajrasattva is imprisoned within all beings by delusion.

It would easy to misinterpret this to mean that Vajrasattva is powerless in living beings. This is not so. Vajrasattva abides within all beings with infinite power. We may think that Vajrasattva is an enlightened being and is already free. This is of course correct yet not in my samsaric world. I still relate to samsaric beings, but I get glimpses of Vajrasattva when I look beyond.

Today at the bus stop I saw a girl smoking. Se stubbed her cigarette out on the floor when there was a bin designed for the butts to go in.  I got slightly miffed that she couldn’t be bothered to walk a few feet. I thought, ‘she’s polluting the world’. Then I contemplated, ‘this is my own world of suffering, I know Vajrasattva is inside her!’ It’s my delusions who are polluting this world. Then I got on the bus and in my mind I went backwards using cause and effect. I saw this happen because I was born into my own subjective world of suffering. I cannot see the pure being inside ‘others’ because I have mentally imprisoned their purest self. All beings are pure.

The same thing happened the other day. The woman who sits next to me at work was really, really angry and going nuts and so I came over and basically ignored her delusions and saw her infinitely calm self and related to that self. Funny thing is she immediately calmed right down, almost instantly. It was like a deep connection to her real self. So powerful.

Samsara does not exist and Buddha’s do not exist in samsara. When we free Vajrasattva, he will appear. Freeing all living beings then becomes helping an infinite amount of Buddhas. As Gen Tharchin says, ‘each being is a future savior, a Gandhi, a Mother Theresa, a Jesus, a Buddha’.

5 responses to “I have imprisoned Vajrasattva inside all living beings

Leave a comment